IAVM Past Chairman, Bob Mayer, CFE, is honored to serve as the 2016-2017 Chair of the Awards Review Task Force and is pleased to announce the start the process of receiving applications for the 2017 IAVM Venue Excellence Awards and the 2017 IAVM Education & Service Award.

The Venue Excellence Award recognizes up to five IAVM venues of any type within the membership that demonstrates excellence in management and operation of public assembly venues.   The Education & Service Award recognizes member involvement through community outreach, education opportunities, mentorships, and internships that demonstrate excellence within the industry as well as giving back to the community.

Mayer said that there have been several changes that will strengthen, streamline, and improve the procedure.  First, for both awards, IAVM Headquarters will now hold applications for three years, allowing non-winning applicants to simply update information, as needed in subsequent years.  Second, winning applicants may reapply after three years.  All scoring criteria has been reviewed and updated.

Several changes have also been implemented to improve the Education & Service Award.  The award may now be bestowed on an individual (all member categories), venue, or company for the processes and programs in place for the community, company, county, etc.

Another change this year is that all applications will first be adjudicated by small peer review sub-committees made up of representatives of each Sector Committee and the finalists will be sent to the Awards Review Task Force for final review and recommendation to the Board of Directors for approval.  So that the full review process can take place in time to have everything complete by VenueConnect, the firm deadline for submitting applications is April 24, 2017.

Mayer emphasized that the Association wants to have as many applications for these prestigious awards as possible.  More information and applications may be viewed at 2017 IAVM Venue Excellence Awards and the 2017 IAVM Education & Service Award.